2016 Cerini Challenge

wide panorama of mount Kenya at dawn

Part I

For this year’s Cerini Challenge, Ken Cerini traveled to Africa (July 18th-29th) and climbed Mount Kenya to raise awareness for the Lymphatic Education & Research Network (LE&RN), a nonprofit organization whose mission is to fight lymphatic disease and lymphedema through education, research and advocacy.

On Sunday, July 24th I set out to climb Mt Kenya at 4:30 in the morning. With headlamp blazing, I slowly trudge up the scree field to the face of the 23 pitch rock climb, with my local climbing guide David. We scaled the walls, traversed the knife-edge trails, and breathed in the ever thinning air, as we made it to the summit of Mt Kenya at 12:20. Completely fogged in, we were unable to take any pictures. We waited about 20 minutes and then started our descent, which included down climbing and repels, making it back to camp by 6:30 … a little hungry and a lot tired. I thank all of you who donated to LE&RN on my behalf and I hope you enjoy the pictures from the trip.

 


Colorado-Cerini-Challenge

Part II

Welcome to the second leg of my Cerini Challenge. Each year I find adventurous things to do to help raise money for the Lymphatic Education & Research Network, an organization dedicated to providing support and finding cures for lymphatic disorders.

In July, I did a 23 pitch rock climb to the 12,057 foot summit of Batian, the tallest point on Mt. Kenya.

On August 18th, I leave for Colorado, where I will climb several mountains (both technical and non-technical), including 10 of the 14,000 foot peaks that Colorado is known for.

Once again, I need your support. I am well below my $10,000 goal and would greatly appreciate you giving to LE&RN to both support their tremendous program and also to support me in my efforts.

Thanks,

Ken

 


Cerini-Challenge-Part-3

Part III

First of all, I would like to thank all of you who have supported me in the Cerini Challenge thus far, and my efforts to raise money for the Lymphatic Education & Research Network (LE&RN). LE&RN is a great organization that continues to fund research and support for lymphatic disorders that impact more than 5 million Americans.

To date, during 2016, I have climbed several 14,000 foot peeks and crack systems in Colorado and scaled 23 pitches of crag and rock to the 17,000 foot summit of Mt. Kenya in Africa (a feat that is accomplished by less than 50 people per year).

Now, in my most difficult challenge of all …. I will attempt a 10 day relaxing vacation in Ireland with my wife. Just like Ebenezer Scrooge, I dread this third spirit the most. I crave activity, adrenaline rushes, the constant push to accomplish. The leisurely stroll, 3 meals a day in restaurants, and the “can we look in this store?” …. definitely not me.

What will make this trip better is if you would consider continuing to support me in my efforts to raise money for LE&RN, and make a difference in the lives of millions of people. I am 37% to my goal. I know you all held back for this … a chance to give me the support and push to make it through this leg of the Cerini Challenge. Like Tinker Bell, I need to see your support so I don’t whither and cease to exist. Please show me you believe in me, by making a donation to LE&RN.

Thanks,

Ken


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment